Recipe Ratings & Reviews
Here’s how our rating system works:

One spoon = Not my favorite Five spoons = Outstanding!

Fall Chicken Fricassee with Barley Pilaf

Overall user rating:  
8 visitors have rated this recipe.

Rate The Recipe


Sign up for FoodFit's FREE newsletters and special e-mails to get healthy recipes, nutrition information and fitness tips!


Five spoons Anonymous on 8/5/2008 7:52:00 PM

Five spoons Jennifer K. from Los Angeles, CA on 11/8/2004 2:58:00 PM

Excellent recipe! Instead of soaking dried mushrooms in water, I used half of a can of mushrooms and all of the juice in the can in the recipe. Also added some garlic in with the onions. Lots of flavor! The barley also gives the recipe more flavor and texture than plain rice would have. I had to add more water and cook the barley longer to make it tender. Overall an easy and excellent dish and I can't wait to make it again!

Five spoons Bridget from arlington, va on 9/22/2004 1:15:00 PM

A great dish with wonderful flavors. My husband & I both loved it. We used chicken breast instead and simmered the sauce longer without the chicken. We also used fresh mushrooms and just sauteed them before adding them into the sauce. I would serve this to company...

Five spoons Gee from Billerica, MA on 10/17/2001 12:08:00 PM

We had a wonderful dinner! The whole family liked it! I also wish to thank Foodfit for providing this excellent service.

Five spoons Renee from Beverly MA. on 10/12/2001 7:02:00 AM

I not only like this recipe I love all the recipes that I have saved in my recipe box that you have provided for me. Keep those wonderful recipes coming. I also appreciate so much when you list the calories and all the food values. I am on a diet and that is so important for me to be able to check out the food values and you have done a great job with all of it. Thank you so much for your site. I have told many of my friends about your site.

Five spoons Anonymous from Maryland on 11/8/2004 12:47:00 PM

As another reviewer suggested, I used fresh mushrooms and chicken breasts. Probably wouldn't hurt to cook the barley a little longer than 20 minutes. The white wine from the chicken and the broth from the barley mixed very well together. Great as leftovers!!

Five spoons Anonymous from Lone Star State on 10/22/2007 11:18:00 AM

My husband and I really enjoyed this. The only changes I made were using fresh mushrooms instead of dry and omitting salt and using cooking white wine. I used regular barley instead of pearl so it did take close to 45 mintues. This will become a fall staple. Thanks.

Five spoons Anonymous on 10/12/2001 11:38:00 AM

FoodFit is a part of HealthCentral
© 1999- The HealthCentral Network, Inc., Copyright All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use