Recipe Ratings & Reviews
Here’s how our rating system works:

One spoon = Not my favorite Five spoons = Outstanding!

Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Cheese

Overall user rating:  
9 visitors have rated this recipe.

Rate The Recipe


Sign up for FoodFit's FREE newsletters and special e-mails to get healthy recipes, nutrition information and fitness tips!


Five spoons Anonymous from Canada on 1/20/2007 9:10:00 PM

This is a great recipe! I've tried so many brocoli soup recipes and this one is by far the best. It doesn't even need the cheese!

Five spoons Freddie B. from Round Rock, TX on 2/11/2002 5:51:00 PM

I like to add juice from 1 lemon to this recipe after its done, since I like to eat my regular broccoli with margarine,lemon juice & a little salt. Also along with this soup I make a sandwich out of 2 pcs jewish rye bread,1 slice of mild cheddar cheese & some capers & melt it in the microwave for 30 seconds. This soup is very filling for the amount of calories that it has. Also use home made chicken broth in it. I add boneless skinned chicken breasts & 10 peppercorns to the Basic Vegetable Stock. I skim off the scum from the boiling chicken before I add the chopped onion,carrots,celery, bunch green onions,fresh parsley, fresh thyme,2 bay leaves, 1 tsp salt to the 2 quarts of water & chicken & cook it till the chicken is done.

Five spoons J. K. from Lodi, CA on 1/28/2002 9:56:00 PM

Easy to prepare and tastes good. I like my soup a little thicker so I used 2 potatoes.

Five spoons Otis from St. Louis, MO on 1/28/2002 10:00:00 AM

This is a very mild, pleasing soup--great for a winter's day!

Five spoons Anonymous from Galt, California on 1/26/2007 11:06:00 AM

I made this soup for my parents for lunch. Paired it with egg salad sandwiches. Mom's diabetic and on a low sodium diet, it worked very well for her. My husband loved it, too! Thanks a bunch (of broccoli)!!! I didn't put it in a blender, just used a potato masher. The lumpiness made you feel like you were eating something substantial.

Five spoons I.D. from Ontario on 11/1/2002 6:43:00 PM

This soup was tasty and filling. I would make it again. I added two potatoes instead of one.

Five spoons Buccaboo from Dallas, TX on 2/6/2002 10:43:00 AM

I enjoyed the idea of this recipe but tried my own variation. Mine was more of a potato soup with broccoli than this recipe but it was delicious. I'll definitely experiment with this one again!

Five spoons Mis. D from Maryland on 1/15/2002 10:43:00 AM

Didn't have a bad taste, but after I put it through the blender, the texture was the consistancy of paste!

Five spoons Anonymous from Eugene, OR on 12/10/2001 11:30:00 PM

Bland. Good for me, though, I'm sure! I guess I need to eat more recipes like this so that I get used to eating healthy.

FoodFit is a part of HealthCentral
© 1999- The HealthCentral Network, Inc., Copyright All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use