Recipe Ratings & Reviews
Here’s how our rating system works:

One spoon = Not my favorite Five spoons = Outstanding!

Home-Style Meatloaf with Garlic Smashed Potatoes

Overall user rating:  
12 visitors have rated this recipe.

Rate The Recipe


Sign up for FoodFit's FREE newsletters and special e-mails to get healthy recipes, nutrition information and fitness tips!


Five spoons Anonymous on 2/9/2005 12:57:00 PM

Five spoons Anonymous on 2/5/2003 9:45:00 PM

Five spoons Anonymous from Minnesota on 11/23/2002 8:28:00 AM

Five spoons Anonymous from Braceville,OH on 10/1/2002 5:20:00 PM

Five spoons AS from BOSTON on 4/16/2002 6:58:00 PM


Five spoons A. VanHeusen from Scotia, New York on 12/26/2001 12:03:00 PM

My entire family LOVED this recipe! Since my son is not big on vegetables, I chopped a small amount of spinach and added it to the meatloaf...No one ever guessed. It was excellent!! I will definately be making this again, soon!

Five spoons Anonymous from Birmingham, MI on 1/27/2005 9:20:00 AM

I'M POSTING AGAIN TO SAY I DIDN"T COOK THE ONION. GREEN PEPPER AND GARLIC FIRST. ADD IT RAW TO THE MIXTURE! I've made it twice now, the first time mostly as an experiment. My husband and I thought it great! BUT I added some things! Last night we had it for our visiting sons. Here is what I did differently. I added one whole diced green pepper and one large diced onion. I also added a can of tomato soup rather than the the ketchup. I think the green pepper, onion and condensed tomato soup helped make it more moist than turkey and sirloin would ordinarily be. For the topping, I stirred together more tomato soup and tomato paste and coated it heavily.I think this also held in the moisture. For the potatoes, I chopped in green onions with the garlic! Very yummy! Went over well for the total meal!

Five spoons Yosy J. from Denver, CO on 12/27/2002 1:40:00 PM

Great meal! I used one of those new meatloaf pans where the fat drains to the lower pan - that hopefully made the meal even healthier.

Five spoons Anonymous from houston on 5/5/2002 9:11:00 PM

It was great and my picky family really enjoyed it! I used mainly ground turkey and added spinach to the rest. It was so light and tasty!

Five spoons Anonymous from Buffalo NY on 11/16/2001 11:03:00 AM

Five spoons Joan S from Milford , De. on 11/15/2001 8:51:00 PM

the only thing i didnt use was the turkey this time , but will the next . It was almost like old time food as we had as kids. Ketchup was a great additive to almost anything.

Five spoons Lois from Lee, MA on 11/16/2001 5:49:00 PM

I used ground chicken breast (turkey breast would be good, too. "Lean" is not always so lean, and with a meat loaf, it's really got to be lean because none of the fat can drain off. Also, I think potato skins are great as a snack, but mixing them in with "smashed" potatoes gives them a texture I find challenging (you should specify scrubbing the potatoes if you're going to use the skins) and not "comfort food." Also, although ketchup is great for flavoring meat loaf, how about balsamic vinegar and oregano or basil? Yeah, it really works well and is a kind of nice surprise!

FoodFit is a part of HealthCentral
© 1999- The HealthCentral Network, Inc., Copyright All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use