Recipe Ratings & Reviews
Here’s how our rating system works:

One spoon = Not my favorite Five spoons = Outstanding!

Wild Rice with Dried Cranberries and Walnuts

Overall user rating:  
9 visitors have rated this recipe.

Rate The Recipe


Sign up for FoodFit's FREE newsletters and special e-mails to get healthy recipes, nutrition information and fitness tips!


Five spoons tina from tx on 11/16/2004 9:56:00 PM

loved this recipe. Even my husband enjoyed it, even though he doesn't like new food. Next time I won't cook the onion with the rice, too much of a onion flavor for me. But, will definetly make again.

Five spoons Pam from Virginia on 11/5/2001 10:23:00 PM

Even the kids liked this one. The cranberries gave it a nice texture, as well as the apples. You could omit the apples & add mandarin oranges for a cold salad. Very versatile.

Five spoons Bev from N.C. on 9/23/2001 5:19:00 PM

Recipe is delicious! I used instant wild rice, and it worked well. I served it warm, and the leftovers I put in a tossed salad cold the next day - great!

Five spoons Tracee W from Fayetteville, Arkansas on 3/9/2002 3:53:00 PM

My mother, who is taking chemo treatments was not hungry, so I was trying to tempt her with different things. She absolutely loved this salad hot and cold. I reduced the onions, added more cranberries, and apples. I also reduced the oil, and used pecans instead of walnuts. It was excellent.

Five spoons Chantal.H from Melbourne Australia on 10/7/2001 1:00:00 AM

Wonderful the inclusion of the cranberries just lifted the dish. We will be eating this on a regular basis

Five spoons E.S. on 9/19/2001 11:13:00 AM

Five spoons Leslie Miller from Baltimore on 11/11/2001 2:47:00 PM

Gosh, I really don't like onions and apples together, but this was pretty tasty. I added a gazillion times more walnuts, and I would reduce the oil and cider vinegar, which made this a little too oily, a little too sour. Otherwise, quite a nice flavor and better heated up a day later!

Five spoons Mitch K. from San Diego on 4/30/2001 9:50:00 PM

I omitted the shallots, parsley, and scallions and the flavor was still fine. I think I'll add some orange chunks or grated orange zest to the next batch I make to compliment the cranberries.

Five spoons Anonymous on 9/11/2001 1:48:00 AM

FoodFit is a part of HealthCentral
© 1999- The HealthCentral Network, Inc., Copyright All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use