Recipe Ratings & Reviews
Here’s how our rating system works:

One spoon = Not my favorite Five spoons = Outstanding!

Breakfast Bread with Carob and Carrots

Overall user rating:  
13 visitors have rated this recipe.

Rate The Recipe


Sign up for FoodFit's FREE newsletters and special e-mails to get healthy recipes, nutrition information and fitness tips!


Five spoons Anonymous from New York on 11/7/2007 9:01:00 PM

Has whole wheat as an ingredient. Stomach sensitive to whole wheat. Could substitute whole wheat for spelt.

Five spoons Anonymous on 7/13/2002 8:39:00 PM

did not make to may carbs and sugar i prefer no sugar honey sweeteners. carrots igh in sugar

Five spoons Michelle P from Cudahy WI on 6/3/2002 9:55:00 AM

This was an okay recipe. I did omit the carob chips because I thought they were, for lack of a better word, gross! Added raisins instead. Because of the other reviewers I used mini bread pans and it worked out fine.

Five spoons Jennifer from Ottawa, Canada on 5/21/2002 10:19:00 AM

This bread was really good. Perfect for taking with you for a quick snack. I didn't have Carob chips so just added a little more carrot. Next time I'll try some raisins.

Five spoons KATHLEEN from BLADENBORO,NC. on 1/25/2002 2:40:00 PM


Five spoons Joan W. from Wauwatosa, WI. on 7/23/2001 7:01:00 PM

I followed the recipe, except I left out the carob chips and added more grated carrot. Very good.

Five spoons Margaret B from Highland,In. on 7/2/2001 11:35:00 PM

Fast and easy, all ingredients in the kitchen except the carob.

Five spoons Anonymous on 2/13/2006 12:09:00 PM

I subbed the carob for mini-chocolate chips. It's very tasty, but also very, very dry. I will try it again, but I'll double (or more) the carrots in it. You didn't really taste the carrots at all as it is, so more carrots will be nice. Oh, and I made one loaf out of it in a normal-sized loaf pan. To get two, you must need mini-loaves, I'm guessing.

Five spoons Anonymous on 4/9/2002 11:01:00 AM

Five spoons Tunde S. from Coquitlam, B.C. on 2/5/2002 12:45:00 AM

Great bread, it was a nice healthy treat. The only problem i had is the loaf pan issue, i have a small loaf pan, but i could only fill it 3/4 full. There was'nt any dough left for another pan..i dont see how there could be.Tasted great and will make it again.

Five spoons Lori S from North Carolina on 1/27/2002 3:05:00 AM

The bread is quite good, "small loaf pans" do they mean mini loaf pans? Because I used two 8" by 3-3/4" x 2-1/2" loaf pans. These were aluminum foil pans I went out and purchased because the ones I had at home were larger. There was no way I could fill them "3/4 full", there wasn't enough dough for that and in fact the bread was only about one and a half-inch high! Is it supposed to be that way? I think it's better to give the pan measurements in a recipe than to say "Small loaf pan". Might as well be specific. It was quite easy to fix and didn't take long, though, so I will probably make it again, but would like to know if I goofed on the pans.

Five spoons Anonymous on 6/2/2002 5:15:00 PM

Five spoons V.D.S. from Medford,NJ on 7/19/2002 11:17:00 PM

This was very dry and chewy. I even added extra carrots to make it moist, and added raisons and it still was dry. I wouldn't make it again. When i did eat it I put applebutter on the slices which added flavor and added some moisture.

FoodFit is a part of HealthCentral
© 1999- The HealthCentral Network, Inc., Copyright All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use