Recipe Ratings & Reviews
Here’s how our rating system works:

One spoon = Not my favorite Five spoons = Outstanding!

Butternut Squash Soup with Caramelized Onions and Apples

Overall user rating:  
13 visitors have rated this recipe.

Rate The Recipe

Top
TTL
spa

Sign up for FoodFit's FREE newsletters and special e-mails to get healthy recipes, nutrition information and fitness tips!


spa
Bot

Five spoons Anonymous from Oregon on 11/9/2005 12:16:00 PM

the ingrediens call for onions twice, but only list them once. That made it difficult. Cooked it anyway and adjusted the one onion for both. Should have been more clear. Good soup anyway

Five spoons Gayle S from Bedford Corners, New York on 11/26/2004 4:24:00 AM

I made this recipe the night before Thanksgiving Day. After I put the soup mixture in a blender I let it sit a bit to cool before I added the caramelized curry apples and onions mixture. Then the next day, I reheated this soup at my girlfriends' house till it was piping hot but NOT BOILING. I altered the recipe a bit by not adding any carrots and instead of the yogurt I added when serving a small slice that I cut from a log of Chevre (Goat Cheese). I dtessed the top with a sprig of fresh dill. WELL...OUTSTANDING REVIEWS CAME FROM AROUND THE TABLE OF 14 PEOPLE!!!!! It was so colorful, wonderful tasting and the dutch oven pot of a doubled recipe went! I was glad that I took a bit for my house before I brought the pot over to my dear friends home. Thank you for sharing tis recipe with us!

Five spoons Gayle S from Bedford Corners, New York on 11/26/2004 4:24:00 AM

I made this recipe the night before Thanksgiving Day. After I put the soup mixture in a blender I let it sit a bit to cool before I added the caramelized curry apples and onions mixture. Then the next day, I reheated this soup at my girlfriends' house till it was piping hot but NOT BOILING. I altered the recipe a bit by not adding any carrots and instead of the yogurt I added when serving a small slice that I cut from a log of Chevre (Goat Cheese). I dtessed the top with a sprig of fresh dill. WELL...OUTSTANDING REVIEWS CAME FROM AROUND THE TABLE OF 14 PEOPLE!!!!! It was so colorful, wonderful tasting and the dutch oven pot of a doubled recipe went! I was glad that I took a bit for my house before I brought the pot over to my dear friends home. Thank you for sharing tis recipe with us!

Five spoons fattyfatty2x4 from NorthernVA on 11/6/2003 12:31:00 PM

I have made Butternut Squash soup many times, but it is nice to have a recipe to follow! I especially like the caramelized onions and touch of curry! BE SURE TO LET THE ONIONS GET VERY GOLDEN BROWN! It makes them sweeter and is a really nice compliment to the soup! I am not sure how I feel about the apples. Perhaps it is because I sliced them instead of diced. I am going to try it again, but may omit them after that. I used plain water and very little salt (remember - canned broth can have lots of sodium). Be sure to use fat free or low fat yogurt as a garnish! It is a nice contrast to the natural sweetness of this soup! LOVE THE LOW CALORIES!!

Five spoons fattyfatty2x4 from NorthernVA on 11/6/2003 12:31:00 PM

I have made Butternut Squash soup many times, but it is nice to have a recipe to follow! I especially like the caramelized onions and touch of curry! BE SURE TO LET THE ONIONS GET VERY GOLDEN BROWN! It makes them sweeter and is a really nice compliment to the soup! I am not sure how I feel about the apples. Perhaps it is because I sliced them instead of diced. I am going to try it again, but may omit them after that. I used plain water and very little salt (remember - canned broth can have lots of sodium). Be sure to use fat free or low fat yogurt as a garnish! It is a nice contrast to the natural sweetness of this soup! LOVE THE LOW CALORIES!!

Five spoons Steffie from Hudson Valley, NY on 10/10/2002 9:48:00 PM

This is a very satisfying recipe for butternut squash soup with dill. The curried apples give it a wonderful flavor. I was also surprised at how quickly all the flavors blended. Fortunately I doubled the recipe, because the first pot is already disappearing with my teen son's help. Enjoy!

Five spoons Nancy F from Houston, TX on 9/24/2002 10:11:00 AM

This soup is wonderful! It was a fabulous addition to my dinner party, and I received complements on it all night. I used sour cream as a garnish for my less health conscience husband and guests, but I prefer the tangyness of the yogurt.

Five spoons Lee from Maine on 9/23/2002 12:57:00 PM

Excellent soup - have recommended this recipe to friends because of its ease and flavor. Used chicken broth instead of veggie, though.

Five spoons Anonymous from Austin, TX on 11/8/2005 12:38:00 AM

This soup is wonderful, an immersion blender works well. I think the first onion was left off the list of ingredients.

Five spoons Anonymous from NYC on 10/22/2004 8:39:00 PM

Damn good! Very warming and good spice mix. I used parsley because the grocer didn't have oregano and it turned out great. I can't believe it's healthy.

Five spoons Denise from Westford, MA on 10/15/2002 8:28:00 AM

Great Soup. I do recommend buying already peeled squash. The yogurt is a great touch. My husband & guests loved it. Remember it is a little bit of work, but worth it

Five spoons Leslee from VA on 1/24/2002 9:43:00 PM

My husband and I loved this! My 6 year old wouldn't touch it though:0(

Five spoons Emily from Providence, RI on 11/10/2001 12:48:00 PM

This recipe is a perfect fall meal when paired with bread and salad. The yogurt and dill garnish is key--don't skip it. The preparation is somewhat more involved than my usual dishes, but the impressive-looking and -tasting outcome is worth it.




FoodFit is a part of HealthCentral
© 1999- The HealthCentral Network, Inc., Copyright All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use