Recipe Ratings & Reviews
Here’s how our rating system works:

One spoon = Not my favorite Five spoons = Outstanding!

Basic Bran Muffins

Overall user rating:  
24 visitors have rated this recipe.

Rate The Recipe


Sign up for FoodFit's FREE newsletters and special e-mails to get healthy recipes, nutrition information and fitness tips!


Five spoons Monica from Miami, FL. on 8/12/2001 1:54:00 PM

The recipe was amazingly easy to make, and very tasty. This was a quick breakfast each morning.

Five spoons Anonymous on 10/29/2001 3:56:00 PM

Five spoons Linda from IL on 1/11/2002 10:29:00 AM

The recipe lists NO dry ingredients!

Five spoons Anonymous from Menasha, WI on 1/11/2002 10:54:00 AM

I can't make it because you failed to tell us the amount of FLOUR to put in the recipe! CAN YOU FIX IT??

Five spoons Anonymous from Menasha, WI on 1/11/2002 10:54:00 AM

I can't make it because you failed to tell us the amount of FLOUR to put in the recipe! CAN YOU FIX IT??

Five spoons Anita from Sao Paolo on 1/11/2002 1:40:00 PM

This was easy to make and just what my American husband was craving! Thank you!

Five spoons Mona S from Alsip, IL on 1/11/2002 3:43:00 PM

Five spoons Anonymous from Jackson, New Hampshire on 1/11/2002 11:40:00 AM

This is a good one. Makes a great snack - also goodfor breakfast.

Five spoons D.P. from Belvedere, CA on 1/11/2002 11:43:00 AM

I'm not usually a bran fan, but these were really tasty. I'll definitely make them again!

Five spoons Carrie from Chester,SC on 1/21/2002 11:01:00 AM

Excellent! I left out the raisins but added a little honey (about 1/4 cup). The kids loved as much as I did.

Five spoons betty mcjunkins from Shreveport, LA. on 3/4/2003 8:54:00 PM

Five spoons Nancy from London, England on 4/24/2002 6:38:00 AM

Great recipe. I substitued 1cup low-fat plain yogurt plus 1/2 cup skim mild for the buttermilk and the recipe was wonderful.

Five spoons S Malcolm from West Yorkshire on 2/12/2002 5:59:00 AM

These muffins are great as a snack and at only 1 point on Weight Watchers, it's not too naughty! However, I would like anyone's comments as to how I stop the muffins sticking to the paper!

Five spoons Sherie from N.B. Canada on 1/11/2002 11:09:00 AM

Can't make the recipe because there aren't any amounts for the ingredients!!!!!!!!!!

Five spoons dee from oklahoma on 3/27/2004 10:04:00 AM

I love this recipe I eat one for a snack with a cup of skim milk. I did adjust it a little I added 1 tspn. of almond extract and spinkled some slivered almonds on top before I baked them. mmmmmm good my 4 yr. old loves them and she is a very picky eater

Five spoons Doris L from Sutter Creek, CA on 1/11/2002 7:12:00 PM


Five spoons gaia from italy on 4/12/2002 11:17:00 AM

Five spoons Rebecca from Toronto, ON on 6/9/2002 10:19:00 PM

These turned out well, though small. I put in chopped apricots instead of raisins, which made for a nice flavour. They work out to two Weight Watchers points by my calculations, which isn't bad!

Five spoons Gayle from Canada on 6/25/2002 11:49:00 PM

This was okay for a low fat muffin. I made a few adjustments. I used bread flour so that they would rise better. I also used brown sugar and replaced 3 tablespoons of the sugar with molasses. They are a bit spongy, but not dry...Be careful not to overcook.

Five spoons Anonymous from Toronto on 2/22/2004 10:54:00 PM

They turned out good but I didn't cook as long as the recipe specified. I'm surprised how moist they came out considering there is no fat. I would substitute brown sugar next time or perhaps add some cinnamon for extra flavour.

Five spoons Anonymous from Watertown Wisconsin on 2/13/2006 4:22:00 PM

.rated low because.. much too high in carbs for our intake....also would prefer a more defined explanation as to what type of bran to use in the recipe.

Five spoons Anonymous from San Diego CA on 1/11/2002 12:49:00 PM

I can't make this recipe without knowing what "bran" you are referring to. Bran flakes? Oat bran? Something else?

Five spoons A.A. from Illinois on 1/16/2002 10:20:00 PM

The muffins were really dry. I think it would be better to use brown sugar, but the recipe simply asks for sugar and I used granulated sugar. They were dumped immediatly!

Five spoons Therese from Fullerton, CA on 1/17/2002 12:22:00 PM

The muffins turned out very spongy. I followed the recipe, but I got muffins that could bounce off the floor instead of melt in your mouth! Save yourself the effort and make something else.

FoodFit is a part of HealthCentral
© 1999- The HealthCentral Network, Inc., Copyright All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use