Recipe Ratings & Reviews
Here’s how our rating system works:

One spoon = Not my favorite Five spoons = Outstanding!

Chicken and Mushroom Marsala

Overall user rating:  
30 visitors have rated this recipe.

Rate The Recipe


Sign up for FoodFit's FREE newsletters and special e-mails to get healthy recipes, nutrition information and fitness tips!


Five spoons Anonymous on 7/17/2001 2:01:00 PM

Five spoons Carrie from SE Wisconsin on 1/22/2002 8:53:00 PM

I made this last night and served it over rice --- FANTASTIC!! I made the recipe as is and had enough sauce for 2 large chicken breasts. Note to cooks -- When I make a chicken dish to be served over rice, I always make the rice in weak chicken broth (or in pan juices if I have enough) rather than plain water. It gives the rice much more pizzazz and the flavors work better together!

Five spoons Juaninho from Riverside, Ca on 11/4/2002 3:53:00 AM

Five spoons A Harste on 3/6/2003 10:16:00 AM

Great with mashed potatoes and the recipe for Magical Greens found on this site. I pounded the chicken breasts flat for faster, more uniform cooking.

Five spoons Anonymous on 3/21/2004 1:09:00 PM

This recipe is awesome! I love it and so does my husband.

Five spoons Cheryl from Jackson, TN on 5/25/2004 9:49:00 PM

Wonderful! This will become a meal I will rely on!

Five spoons Anonymous on 5/26/2004 4:43:00 PM

This recipie was amazing. I can't wait to make it again, though next time I will double the amount of mushrooms!!

Five spoons Anonymous from Atlanta, Ga on 5/31/2005 4:58:00 PM

This recipe is awesome. I have cooked it 3 times already. My husband and my children love it. We tend to fight over the mushrooms so I'll have cook plenty of them next time.

Five spoons Anonymous from Wisconsin on 10/24/2005 11:32:00 PM

I have made this recipe over and over again. I have even written and performed a demonstration speech using this recipe.

Five spoons Anonymous from Columbus, OH on 10/30/2005 12:30:00 AM

Delicious! I think I used a little more wine than the recipe called for (delicious flavor!). I also made a little extra sauce by heating equal parts of the left over chicken broth and wine in a sauce pan and slowly stirring in a water-flour mixture (roux I think it is called) until the desired thickness was reached. Definately will make this again though, it was a simple meal when served over pasta or rice with a veggie on the side.

Five spoons Anonymous from Florida on 11/3/2005 9:55:00 PM

Huge payoff for so few ingredients and so little time. I have tried other marsala recipes from other sources in the past and have never been happy with the results before I found this recipe on Food Fit. I follow the instructions very carefully and the results are delicious.

Five spoons Anonymous from Indianapolis, IN on 11/10/2005 1:17:00 PM

This recipe was awesome! So much flavor for so little fat. I doubled the mushrooms, increased the wine and broth by a little, and made 5 good size chicken breasts. There were plenty of mushrooms!

Five spoons Clark, Margie & Eddie from Yonkers, NY on 4/21/2002 9:34:00 PM

This dish is absolutely delicious. We loved it and can't wait to have it again! It's easy to make and quick. We highly recommend this dish to anyone. We are so happy to have found this website...thanks Foodfit.

Five spoons Jane from Okeene, OK on 5/27/2003 11:27:00 PM

My niece and sister recommended this and it was worth recommending. I shared it with a friend and I wouldn't share if I didn't think it was really good.

Five spoons S. W. from Hendersonville, NC on 11/2/2003 11:20:00 PM

Delicious and easy! My mother, husband, and kids loved it! I'll definitely make it again.

Five spoons Anonymous from Toronto, CAN on 10/5/2006 5:09:00 PM

I totally agree with everyone's assessment. Easy and delicious! I made it last night for company and had to distribute copies of the recipe to everyone on their way out the door. I might forego dredging the chicken in the flour next time .. not sure if it really adds anything? ..

Five spoons Anonymous from Columbus, OH on 4/11/2007 1:27:00 PM

This dish was sooooo good! Everyone in my family loved it. It is definitely a new favorite!

Five spoons Anonymous from Fayetteville, NC on 5/4/2007 10:56:00 PM

WOW! This was great! It was a hit at my house! I was not too happy about buying a bottle of wine just to make this dish, was worth it. In fact about a week after I made this, my husband said "let's try this recipe on pork chops and it was as good as on the chicken. The only thing I did different was that i also sauteed some onions along with the mushrooms. I served this with steamed yellow squash, as I am on a diet (as always!)

Five spoons Anonymous from Alberta on 9/28/2007 12:46:00 PM

By far the best Chicken Marsala recipie you will find anywhere. Outstanding flavor. Easy to follow and easy to make. This is one of those "What should I make for company recipes".

Five spoons Anonymous from Fort Collins, CO. on 2/12/2008 3:02:00 PM

This has to be the most delicious low-fat marsala recipe I have ever tried. My boyfriend can't get enough of it. I have found that there is no need to take the chicken out to let the sauce reduce. I leave it in and it is just as juicy. I could eat this everyday!

Five spoons Anonymous from Spring, TX on 11/17/2008 1:37:00 PM

This was a very good dish!! it is easy to make and extremely tasty!!

Five spoons Anonymous on 9/12/2007 6:53:00 AM

Did you change this recipe?? I made it before and I know the cooking instructions have changed--liked it better the other way but did not save, could you repost?? Thanks if so.

Five spoons Michelle from Syracuse, NY on 1/4/2004 7:19:00 PM

My husband and I are trying to cook more healthy and we tried this recipe a few nights ago. We thought it wasn't going to be good because it wasn't made like traditional chicken marsala (you know, with lots of butter) but to our surprise it was delicious! We can't wait to make it again!

Five spoons A.I from GREECE on 8/28/2002 4:29:00 AM


Five spoons Anonymous from Texas on 4/12/2006 6:36:00 AM

Excellent recipe that the whole family loved. The fact that it was easy, was just icing on the cake. I served it with Skinny Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes and greens.

Five spoons Dee from Wichita, KS on 3/8/2003 10:55:00 AM

Great recipe. Easy to make, great tasting, and low fat. Will surely make it again and again.

Five spoons RH from Philadelphia on 5/21/2003 8:07:00 PM

Great recipe. We had leftover carrots, so we included them with the mushrooms. We served it over rice made with chicken broth. Delicious! We'll definitely make this again.

Five spoons Debbie from Miami, FL on 10/17/2001 9:33:00 AM

I make this recipe frequently, as it is loved by all in our home. An additional benefit is that I normally have all of the ingredients on hand making this a great last minute dinner solution.

Five spoons Anonymous on 3/22/2002 6:44:00 AM

Five spoons DAYNA from SIOUX LOOKOUT on 5/1/2001 9:29:00 AM


FoodFit is a part of HealthCentral
© 1999- The HealthCentral Network, Inc., Copyright All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use