Recipe Ratings & Reviews
Here’s how our rating system works:

One spoon = Not my favorite Five spoons = Outstanding!

Greens with Apples, Walnuts, Blue Cheese and Balsamic Vinaigrette

Overall user rating:  
12 visitors have rated this recipe.

Rate The Recipe


Sign up for FoodFit's FREE newsletters and special e-mails to get healthy recipes, nutrition information and fitness tips!


Five spoons MaiTai from Arlington, VA on 2/18/2004 8:23:00 PM

This salad was very good. I substituted pears for the apples. The dressing is especially tasty and very easy to make. This salad has become a regular of mine because it's so easy and delicious.

Five spoons Lori S from Lincolnton, North Carolina on 1/27/2002 3:11:00 AM

Really enjoyed this salad, although I did leave out the nuts the first night--just did not have them here--I've already made it a couple times. I liked the vinaigrette and only used a very small amount. As a diabetic and someone watching my cholesterol it still worked for my diet. High Monounsaturated fats. Thanks!

Five spoons Anonymous from Cleveland, OH on 10/29/2001 7:33:00 PM

The feta cheese substitution is excellent! Sweet and sour.

Five spoons Kathleen from Buffalo NY on 9/25/2001 10:46:00 AM

Try this with fewer nuts and 1 tsp. cheese- just as tasty. Use the more crunchy lettuces.

Five spoons Lucinda from Virginia on 9/25/2001 10:31:00 AM

We need LOW FAT!!!!!

Five spoons GAIL H from LINDEN N.J. on 1/9/2002 6:04:00 PM

Really enjoyed this salad. A change from every day greens. Real tasty!!

Five spoons Midge from Ann Arbor, MI on 10/10/2001 7:24:00 PM

Tasty! Different from the ordinary nuts, bleu cheese & fruit salads due to the dressing. Just a bit of dressing goes a long way.

Five spoons Colleen N. from Petersburg, Ak on 9/25/2001 7:15:00 PM

This recipe is very adaptable. Try Feta Cheese if you prefer it to blue cheese. Nectarines and roasted hazelnuts are good too.

Five spoons Anonymous from Chicago, IL on 9/25/2001 10:36:00 AM

I'm not sure why everyone is complaining about the fat -- a little bit of healthy fat is good for you, and if you are truly concerned you could either serve it with less than two tablespoons per serving, or buy a fat-free balsamic vinaigrette bottled sauce. The combination of apples, blue cheese and walnuts is my favorite thing!

Five spoons Anonymous on 9/25/2001 7:47:00 AM

why so much fat?

Five spoons Maureen S from Carol Stream, IL on 9/25/2001 8:54:00 AM

Don't care for blue cheese - any suggestions as to what can be substituted?

Five spoons Anonymous on 9/24/2001 9:57:00 PM

I need more lo-fat recipes. This recipe has too much fat.

FoodFit is a part of HealthCentral
© 1999- The HealthCentral Network, Inc., Copyright All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use